三ツ矢堂製麺 Mitsuyado Sei-men

Mitsuyado Sei-men is a large chain with locations all over Japan, and even one in Manila. I popped into the main shop in Naka-Meguro in August for some for their gyokai tonkotsu ramen. I got there late in the afternoon, and the shop was quite busy given the time of day. The atmosphere is good –  wooden decor and jazz playing over the speakers. There is outdoor seating available, although I can’t imagine sitting outside on a 32 degree day eating a piping hot bowl if ramen.

01 Shop

They have quite an extensive menu, including tsukemen, ramen, and a variety appetizers. Tsukemen seems to be the most popular item on the menu, but I was here for the ramen.

02 Gyokai Tonkotsu Ramen

I ordered a bowl of gyokai tonkotsu ramen. I came with pork, green onions, a tiny piece of nori, menma, and kamaboko (steamed fish paste – it’s white and pink). I love kamaboko in my ramen!

03 Soup

The soup had a nice, fishy flavour. It was thick and not oily. Just look at that lovely brown colour. It was the highlight of this ramen.

04 Noodles

There wasn’t a huge portion of noodles, but they were excellent – straight and chewy.

05 Pork

There was just one piece of pork, but it was so tender it fell apart when I attempted to pick it up with my chopsticks. It was delicious.

This is a very good shop. The quality is high, but the portion is a bit small considering the price. Still, it’s worth checking out if you’re in Naka-Meguro, but I’d recommend nearby Emoto Masahiro.

Score: 8.5/10

Location: Just outside the south exit of Naka-Meguro Station

Address: 東京都目黒区上目黒3-3-9 (Tokyo, Meguro-ku Kamimeguro 3-3-9)

Price: from ¥780

Seating: 44 seats, including outdoor seating

Leave a comment